Roving Thoughts archives

2021-02-14

My (Twitter) reactions to the first episodes of the Winter 2021 anime season

As before I'm collecting here all of my tweeted reactions to the first episodes I've seen (in the order that I saw them). This entry is delayed for various reasons so I'm throwing in some bonus additional notes.

  • Otherside Picnic episode #1: That was okay at what it did but as a stand alone work I felt like it lacked some vital spark of engagement amidst the frenzy of weirdness, action, and horror-ish mood. I'm not unbiased though, since I've looked at the manga.

  • Laid-Back Camp S2 episode #1: What can I say? Seeing young Rin was great (especially the failures (and learning) and then the curry cup), and then we got all the current day stuff. The magic is 100% back (or, if you prefer, continuing).

    (As you would expect, Laid-Back Camp has continued to be excellent.)

  • So I'm a Spider, So What? episode #1: I'm predisposed to like this for various reasons, but it was still reasonably fun although limited by all of the setup work it had to do. I hope it gets better in future episodes once our spider gets to do more interesting and active things.

  • Horimiya episode #1: This was fun and charming and nicely done. None of these people are your usual potatoes and I can believe what's happening with them. I don't know where the show is going to mine drama from, though, and if I'm going to be happy watching that happen.

    (I only just got around to watching the second episode of this, so I don't know if I'm really going to stick with it.)

  • Hortensia Saga episode #1 is unfortunately not interesting enough for me to finish. It's a collection of cliches with one of the least convincing 'girl cosplaying as a guy' cases I've seen. I can only conclude that everyone on her side knows it.

  • Kid from the Last Dungeon episode #1: That was decently funny, although not very deep. One of the things that made it work is that some but not all of the people around Lloyd knew how powerful he was, which led to a certain amount of tension. But it's painting pretty broadly.

    (I would up abandoning this part way through episode 3.)

  • That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime episode #25: Partly re-introduction to things and partly a slow-moving setup episode, although they did put in some show-off fights at the end. It's still fun but I kind of wish it was more engaging right now.

    ('I wish this was more engaging' is part of my reaction to a lot of this season of Slime so far.)

  • Log Horizon S3 episode #1: My immediate reaction to this episode is that I'm not a fan of either the focus on politics or the theme of everything falling apart. Maybe there will be a triumphant ending to the season but right now it doesn't feel like getting there will be fun.

    (Although I haven't dropped this officially, I haven't watched the second episode. It may turn out to be another Full Metal Panic.)

  • Wonder Egg Priority episode #1: Oh wow, that was beautifully done. Also periodically painful in a quiet way and sometimes brutal, mostly in a 'the implied made real' kind of way. There were some very visceral moments. (What concretely happened is basically beyond summary.)

  • Sk8 the Infinity episode #1: That was okay but not compelling, especially in this busy season. I don't think the over the top nature of some things clicked with me, but the characters and the core gimmick of the episode were okay.

    (I didn't watch any more of this.)

In continuing shows, I'm still enjoying Jujutsu Kaisen.

anime/Winter2021FirstEpisodes written at 22:16:40; Add Comment

2020-10-30

Brief impressions of the Fall 2020 anime season so far

As before, it's time for my current views on how this season has shaken out so far, following up on my first episode reactions. At this point I've watched four episodes of everything I'm following, which is long enough for shows to establish themselves and usually for my views to stabilize. After a drought that kind of started when I abandoned the fall 2019 season, I'm apparently back to watching plenty of anime.

(I have some thoughts on that but I'm not sure they fit within the margins of an entry I want to write.)

Good:

  • Warlords of Sigdrifa: This is my surprise of the season, because it's unreasonably good (well, for its genre); the third episode was an especially good standout, but it has great touches all through (including in incidental background details). As I put it on Twitter, the show might have good fights but it's about people, and that's what gets me hooked.

    (With that said, it's not an entirely serious show.)

Entertaining:

  • Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear: This is a fundamentally charming story that I'm enjoying for that, and also for Yuna's faces and periodic nature as a little gremlin. I have an advantage in that I've been exposed to the story in manga form, where I also enjoyed it, so I'm happy to see it animated even if this is not a top notch flawless adaptation. Unfortunately the various flaws of this probably mean that people who don't know the story (and aren't fond of isekai in general) won't like the show at all.

    (Also, the protagonist is a girl, which is unusual and refreshing.)

  • Akudama Drive: On the one hand, the setting and most of the characters here are ludicrous in a stylish cyberpunk way, with the redeeming virtue that the show commits wholeheartedly to it (and has the animation to make it look good). On the other hand, I have gotten steadily more caught up in it every episode, as it reveals another twist and turn, and it does have one normal character that we can root for and care about as she gets caught up in everything. This has definitely become engaging watching where I care about what happens next.

  • Jujutsu Kaisen: So far the show is well executed shonen action with aspects of horror, which is basically what I was expecting from its genre and pedigree. It's adopting an ongoing Shonen Jump series, so I'm expecting lots of battles, little progress in any overall plot, no real conclusion, and a decent chance that I'll get bored with it before it ends. It has one solid female protagonist, but I'm also not expecting the show to treat her well, because shonen action shows (and manga) almost never do.

  • Assult Lily Bouquet: This is another 'fighting girls' show, and as usual I have slightly conflicted feelings. Overall I'm enjoying it and I find a number of the characters appealing; it's pretty well made and it knows how to do action and how to make action interesting (which aren't quite the same thing). It's also got a surprising streak of subtlety in its storytelling (both visual and in dialog). On the other hand, it is playing to a certain degree of fanservice and is somewhat over the top even for its genre.

    As an instance of its genre, it's pretty good, and I happen to like its genre when it's done well. However I don't think it has much appeal if you're not a fan of the genre and it certainly has some peculiar aspects if looked at objectively.

On the edge:

  • Sleepy Princess in the Demon Castle: This is lightweight and only has one core joke, but so far it's managed to remain both funny and charming (sometimes through unexpected twists). It's been an entertaining way to pass some time so far, although I wouldn't be surprised if I grew tired of it eventually.

    (It helps that each episode is divided into several segments, so the jokes move along fairly briskly.)

  • Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon: This is reasonably fun, has a cast of female protagonists in an action series, and I like some of the characters. On the other hand it has all of the stately pacing and lack of a real spark that I expected from a follow up to Inuyasha, although this is an anime only thing so we have some hope of a conclusion. I'm casually enjoying it so far but I rather expect I won't make it all the way through (especially if it's more than one or maybe two cours).

  • By the Grace of the Gods: This is a pretty wholesome isekai and also quite bland and ordinary, in characters, situation, animation, and directing. That makes it basically a time filler. I'm apparently willing to keep watching for now but I'm probably going to wind up dropping it.

    (If it was the typical power fantasy type thing I would already have dropped it, but it's just charming enough to hang on for now.)

I don't currently have any urge to watch more than this (or to watch less), so I probably won't have any mid-season pickups. If I did, Adachi and Shimamura is the leading candidate for a look. There are other fantasy and isekai shows and I like the genre in general, but I think I have enough of them as it is this season.

PS: My ongoing impressions of each episode of the shows I'm watching are linked in a Twitter thread from my first episode reactions for each show. Twitter works better for these quick reactions than blog entries do, at least for me.

anime/Fall2020Brief written at 10:21:13; Add Comment


Page tools: See As Normal.
Search:
Login: Password:
Atom Syndication: Recent Pages, Recent Comments.

This dinky wiki is brought to you by the Insane Hackers Guild, Python sub-branch.